Opera in three Acts

for 4 soloists, 8 players and 6-channel electronics

Year of Composition


Detailed Instrumentation


  • Soprano
  • 2 Tenors
  • Baritone



  • Clarinet / Bass Clarinet
  • Bassoon
  • Trumpet
  • Violin
  • Cello
  • Percussion
  • Harp
  • Piano

Approximate Duration

1 hour

Libretto adapted from

O Mestre Assassinado, by Alexandre Herculano


May 2019 at Maas Theater en Dans, Rotterdam. (premiere)

  • Patrick: Laurent Nadal
  • Guido: Gulian van Nierop
  • Blanche: Albina Gitman
  • Gilbert: Jorge Luís Castro
  • Ensemble: Nuno Cunha, Trevor Sze, Diogo Tavares, Carlos Yeung, Julia Barahal, Elsbeth Verheij, Alex Chater
  • Production: Pleun Meijer, Iris Lommerse, Renate Angelique, Jaehyoung Choi
  • Direction: Rudolf van Schaik
  • Musical direction: Miguel Resende Bastos


In the beginning of the 14th century, the French Order of the Temple of Solomon was banned by decree of the King and the Pope. Its remnants live in exile in the north of Scotland, plotting their return.To save his life, a boatman must embark on a dangerous mission — to carry a mysterious passenger across the canal to Calais, to fulfil a deadly purpose. A secret is revealed and loyalties are tested, as a figure from the past brings the spectre of death upon a quiet household. The life and happiness of a loving family hangs in the balance, while greed and hatred poison the minds of common folk. At the mercy of the elements and surrounded by thunderous storm, the Knights and Masters of the ancient Order must face the devastation brought on by their stubbornness, if there is to be hope for a better future.